Tags

, , , , , ,

As I said in my previous post, I’m participating in a 31 day Challenge on Fitness Cheerleader ‘s blog.  Today’s challenge is planning out my SMART goals on a micro level (days, weeks, months, etc).  I think this is a fantastic idea.  I am someone that is fully anal about planning.  I love it.  I feel lost without it.  So, I’m gonna give this a shot.

1.  Lose Weight.

I’ve taken the liberty of planning out my meals for the next 2 weeks. I will repeat this every two weeks and base them around sales at the grocery store, what’s in season, and the meals will of course, be HEALTHY!

I will blog more.  Blogging my feelings, good recipes, meal plans, exercise….EVERYTHING.  I will do this 3x/week at a minimum.

I will learn to lean on my friends and family when I need to.  I rarely talk about the trials and tribulations of weight loss with my family or friends….or even my husband for that matter.  I always kinda thought they wouldn’t understand because they don’t really have weight problems….especially a weight problem of my magnitude.  More important than them understanding what it’s like to carry enough weight for two people, they love me.  They want to help.  I love them too.  I’m not going to beat this thing alone.

I will measure and log everything I put into my body.  i am going to continue doing this on Spark People daily.

I will continue doing Spark People meetings weekly.  Fantastic support from people that understand what it’s like to climb this mountain.

2. Avoiding Greasy Delicious Fast Food.

This one is going to take some work.  I can’t say that I won’t EVER eat at a fast food place (I may or may not have eaten at Burger King today), but I am going to try to limit myself, and I want to make better (re: smarter) choices about what I’m eating if I do happen to stop.  My biggest fast food temptation comes when I take my son to Physical Therapy on Mondays every week.  I think the best thing I can do for myself is pack a lunch, pack a beverage, and bare knuckle it past all of the places.  Usually my intention is to stop and get something for the kiddos to eat, but we’re now going to be a brown bag family!  I think in order to keep myself accountable, I may have to rely on a friend or family member to talk to me on phone from the time I get into my car, until the time I get onto the freeway…OR I will post pictures of my snack/lunch on my blog or twitter.

 

3.  READ!

This is pretty easy to plan, actually.  I can squeeze in an hours worth of reading in a day (a little during nap time, and a little at the gym).  I will read at least one book a month.  The topics will vary depending on what I feel like indulging in…  The library has several book clubs that meet throughout the month.  I’m going to go in tomorrow and find out specifics.

 

4.  Running a 5k.

I’m starting slow with walking 18 min/mi at this point.  I’ve started looking at couch to 5k programs. I will complete one hopefully in time to participate in a 5k in Pittsburgh in March. If that doesn’t work, I’m certain there are other 5k’s to hop into in the Baltimore/D.C. area.

