Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Shall I set the scene? I’ve been out of commission on the exercise front for a couple of weeks.  Between my husband’s insane schedule and a medical problem I’ve been experiencing, I haven’t been able to work out much.  Thus, it’s been increasingly important that I stay within my caloric/points plus means.  I’ve been doing well, but then Easter weekend came blowing in to town.

Friday: I went out to dinner with my brother-in-law’s girlfriend and my husband. We went to The Majestic Cafe in Alexandria, VA. 

Image

It was my first time meeting her (my brother in-laws girlfriend), and frankly she was fan-freakin’-tastic.  I had a great time.  The reason we know I had a good time was because I had 3-4 cocktails. Artisan crafted sips of HEAVEN.  CALORIES.  Then I had grilled fish and wild rice pilaf for dinner (it was Good Friday after all, and I am an observing Catholic…..a seafood-hating observant Catholic).  The fish itself was somewhat tasty, but the sauce was a triumph.  It made the fact I was eating fish somewhat palatable.  It was loaded with butter and other such deliciousness. I ate much more of the fish plain than I did with the sauce.  Did I mention the homemade onion ring appetizer complete with 3 homemade dipping sauces? CRAZY CALORIES.  Then….dessert.  Sweet little 7 lb. 6 oz. baby Jesus lying in a manger….. Homemade churros that made their way from the kitchen to my table in an elegantly folded paper bag soaked in oily, cinnamon sugary goodness.  There was a small bowl of chocolate sauce that just a touch of coffee in it.  My experience with these churros bordered on sexual. They were tender, sugary….and dipped in the sauce…..FORGET ABOUT IT.  CALORIE JACKPOT!  I wasn’t brave enough to track it.  

 

Saturday:  Being that we were in Alexandria and staying at the Hotel Monaco (like always),

Image

 

we had brunch at Jackson 20 (like always).

 

Image

 I got a BELT (like always).  I don’t have a picture of the sandwich, mostly because whenever it arrives at the table, I attack it viciously and without mercy.  Imagine two slices of buttery grilled brioche, topped with crispy bacon, two over easy eggs, lettuce and FRIED GREEN TOMATOES!.  When you bite into this beautiful sandwich, the egg breaks and gooey egg yolk combines with the rest.  Oh, and their delightful crispy hashbrowns on the side cannot be ignored.  To be fair, I could only eat half of  the sandwich, but you best believe I finished my hashbrowns and downed two mugs of English Breakfast Tea sweetened with honey.  I was not hungover, but in the past this meal has powered me through the morning after a gin-filled evening.  Medicinal powers, I’m telling you.  After brunch, we wandered through the Udvar-Hazy Smithsonian Annex of the Air and Space museum at Dulles. We saw the Discovery space shuttle (I always nerd out in the space wing.  I went to Space Camp several times as a kid and I hope that I will go again as an adult.) Then, after much whining and carrying on by my 5 year old DD and 2 year old DS, we went to the McDonald’s that is ever-so-conveniently placed within the museum.  After one hamburger and, of course, FRIES we headed home where I would later share some delicious and greasy Chinese food with my mother and the spawn.  Calories?  Again–was not brave enough to track.  Sufficed to say, I’m positive it was not a good look.

 

Sunday–Easter Sunday to be exact:  I split a bacon, egg, and cheese sandwich with my Mom at Sonic.  I also downed a big ass Diet Cherry Limeade.  Why?  Because that’s what you freakin’ do when you go to SONIC!  I didn’t eat anything else until the main event.  PRIME RIB ROAST with YORKSHIRE PUDDING, MASHED POTATOES, GRAVY, GREEN VEGETABLES, ROLLS and for dessert?  Rhubarb Crisp with Vanilla Bean frozen yogurt.  TO FREAKIN’ DIE FOR!!!!  The Yorkshire pudding came out perfectly.  Because we stuffed the roast to the gills with an entire head of garlic, it had a tremendous amount of flavor!  I didn’t bother tracking that either.  I didn’t want to know.  Red meat is CRAZY with the Weight Watchers plus POINTS!

 

To say that I was concerned about my weekly weigh-in was an understatement.  The scale hadn’t really been in the my favor during the last two.  When I stepped on and was told “you’re down 3.1” you could’ve pushed me over with a feather.  I almost hugged the lady.  Almost to my new 5% goal!  .3 lbs away and hopefully next week I will be there!  

 

Weight Watchers has really been pushing their “small changes” schtick.  What small change will I be making this week?  Tracking the good, bad and ugly.  Shouldn’t be too ugly though.  I’ve planned our menu and we are NOT eating out!  I know tons of people can handle eating healthy while out and about, but it’s something I just haven’t mastered.  The temptation to eat greasy, fried foods is usually so great.  I guess this would be one time that leaning on my husband, weight loss friends, or my weight loss coach would be useful.  Ask for help when it’s needed….what a novel concept!

